Insomnia

If I fall asleep now, I’ll get 7 hours sleep.
From me you will hear not a peep.
My brain is quite finally,
Now that I’m done counting sheep.

If I fall asleep now, I’ll still get 6 hours,
And If I get up early then maybe I can have a shower.
Maybe I should go for one before bed and then I wont have to wake up so early.
Decisions, decisions.

If I fall asleep now, I’ll be knackered in the morning,
But I can neck a Red Bull before I leave for work,
And make sure I get an early night tomorrow.
Oh, who am I kidding.

If I fall asleep now, I’ll have four hours on my side.
It’s not a lot, but it’s something to help me get through the day.
Supplementary rest until my return in the evening.
The sun is rising; dawn breaks.

If I fall asleep now I might sleep through my alarm.
I had better set four more in case I do.
More buzzing noise to pull me from my slumber.
Less room for error.

If I fall asleep now then maybe I’ll have a chance.
This hurts.
My thoughts hurt.
Somebody take this away from me.

My alarm rings out and I’m lying still awake.
I feel the urge to move but all I can manage is to shake.

Leave a Reply

