Sunday Sonnet: The girl in the dark

I wonder alone, in the dark and the cold,
To find myself some one to trust.
I walk in the dark; both humble and bold,
I walk by myself as I must.

The wind whispers her name, like the call of a songbird,
And I do not know how to follow.
I wander the lines, as they leave themselves blurred,
All lonely; so heartless and hollow.

I find a nice face, picked out from the crowd.
She finds me all out of my luck.
She wanders out loud, all mellow and proud.
She tells me: “I don’t give a fuck.”

We left the dance floor, away from the dark.
We went for a smoke on our own in the park.

Leave a Reply

