The Burning Inside

My knees are weak and my lungs are barely breathing.
My veins were open but I’ve stopped all of the bleeding,
I’ve been needing you to need me.
I’ve been seeing you see through me.
I don’t understand how my heart can break and skip a beat all at once.
I can’t stop the burning inside.
The burning inside –
The burning inside is killing me.

I look around as if anyone could see that I’m drowning.
My lips kiss the water line, gasping for air.
I can make it if I try, but I’d have to try to care.
Won’t see the inside of an air lock door;
Won’t see the inside of a padded seclusion room.
Suffocating my insanity until it calms to a halt.
But the burning keeps on.
The burning inside –
The burning inside is killing me.

If I died, would it be a tragedy or a comic tale?
Tie me to a tree, let me fight for it.
Let me see how much I want to live.
Let me show you what I would give to be alive when I know I’m already dead.
I eat your words and swallow them whole.
I eat the dirt beneath your feet in the hope you might look down.
Look down and see the fire.
The Burning inside –
The Burning inside is killing me.

Tell me the truth, does love really exist?
I look the devil in his face every time I pass a mirror.
I hear the words linger on the back of my skull like fused magnets.
They echo, they whisper, they linger;
They tell me I’m right and I’m wrong and I’m both and neither.
If I could ask God for help, would he really help someone like me?
Would he see through my skin?
The Burning inside –
The Burning inside is killing me.

 

Leave a Reply

